NPB elects new officers – Alabama Peanut Producers Association

 Gayle White, a farmer from Frederick, Okla. was recently elected chairman of the 12-member National Peanut Board last week during the Board’s quarterly meeting in Atlanta, Ga. White, who is the Oklahoma member and had been the board’s treasurer, will begin her one-year term Jan. 1.NPB logo

“I’m honored to serve all peanut farmers as chairman of the National Peanut Board this year,” said White. “I feel confident that the direction we’ve set for 2016—understanding our target market of 80 million millennials while continuing to focus on peanut allergy education, outreach and research—will only increase consumer confidence in and preference for peanuts.”

National Peanut Board also elected Ed White of Newville, Ala. as vice-chairman; Greg Gill of Walnut Ridge, Ark. as treasurer; and Dan Ward of Clarkton, N.C. as secretary. These officers will serve one-year terms beginning Jan. 1.

USDA officially instated new Board members and alternates, who will begin their three-year terms Jan. 1. New Board members sworn in were Eileen Jordan (At-Large), Andy Bell (Ga.), Bud Bowers (S.C.) and Peter Froese Jr. (Texas). New alternates sworn in were Micah Barham (At-Large), William Carte (Fla.), Neil Lee (Ga.), Neal Baxley Jr. (S.C.) and Bob White (Texas.).

During the meeting, Board Chairman Bob White (Texas) resigned his position, effective immediately; and the Board voted unanimously to elect vice-chairman Monty Rast (S.C.) as chairman. Rast’s term ends Dec. 31, 2015.

National Peanut Board would like to recognize the following outgoing board members and thank them for their years of service to the peanut industry: Vic Jordan (at-large member and past chairman), John Harrell (Ga. member and past chairman), Monty Rast (S. C. member and chairman) and Bob White (Texas member and immediate past-chairman.)