News Feed – Alabama Peanut Producers Association

USDA Announces National Peanut Board Appointments;
Corcoran and Adams appointed to National Peanut Board

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Jan. 12, 2018

Tom Corcoran, Barbour County farmer, is a newly appointed member to the National Peanut Board by Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue. Thomas Adams, Henry County, is a newly appointed alternate to the board. The appointees will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2018, and ending Dec. 21, 2020.

“Research and consumer education are keys to growing the $1 billion peanut industry in America,” said Perdue. “Both the new and continuing members of the board bring great insight to this work from their many years of experience helping America’s 7,000 peanut-farming families improve production practices and continue to produce the world’s highest-quality peanut product for people around the globe.”

The National Peanut Board is a research and promotion program that is industry-funded and authorized by Congress. The board is composed of 12 producer members and their alternates. Eleven members and alternates are from the primary peanut producing states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia. An at-large member and alternate represent the minor peanut producing states.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

More information about the National Peanut Board, visit or the National Peanut Board website at