2023 APPA Annual Meeting Held Feb. 2 – Alabama Peanut Producers Association

The Alabama Peanut Producers Association (APPA) held its annual meeting Feb. 2, 2023 in conjunction with the Alabama-Florida Peanut Trade Show in Dothan, Alabama.


Delegates elected open director positions for the APPA board as well. Glen Walters was re-elected to hold Covington County’s one seat. Jerry Byrd was re-elected to hold Dale County’s one seat. Houston County has two seats, and Fred Helms and George Jeffcoat were both re-elected to hold those positions. Darrin Driskell was re-elected to the Southwest district’s one seat.


After the annual meeting was adjourned, the APPA Board of Directors convened to elect officers for 2023. Carl Sanders was re-elected to serve as President. Sanders has held this position for 23 years. Mark Kaiser was re-elected to his seventh year as Vice President. Jerry Byrd was re-elected to serve his 23rd year as Treasurer.


2023 Alabama Peanut Producers Association Board of Directors

Carl Sanders, President, Coffee County
Mark Kaiser, Vice-President, Baldwin County
Jerry Byrd, Treasurer, Dale County
Thomas Adams, Henry County
Tom Corcoran, NE District
Darrin Driskell, SW District
Fred Helms, Houston County
Jimmy Royce Helms, Geneva County
Billy Hixon, NW District
George Jeffcoat, Houston County
Jesse Scott, Geneva County
Joel Sirmon, Baldwin County
Glen Walters, Covington County
Jason Weber, Escambia County
Ed White, Henry County


The Alabama Peanut Producers Association (APPA) is a grower funded organization whose purpose is to represent the interests of Alabama peanut farmers through education, promotion and research. APPA has been turning resources into results since 1957.